MY RELAXER STRETCH SO FAR… Will I go natural?

Hello guys!

Alright so I’m officially 24 WEEKS POST RELAXER!!!, I cant believe this!. The longest I’ve ever gone without relaxing my hair is 15 weeks and even at that, towards the ending I ended up incorporating some kind of protective style that just takes my mind off my hair. But this time I’ve been incorporating hairstyles that don’t involve me going to any hair stylist to install hair style.

3 CHALLENGES I’VE BEEN FACING:

  1. My hair has been tangling more at the point of demarcation, that is where my new growth meets my relaxed hair.
  2. Is it me or my hair appears shorter?
  3. UUGH! the breakage!C360_2017-05-31-09-21-51-162C360_2017-05-31-09-16-16-567.jpg

SO HERE’S HOW I’VE BEEN COPING:

  1. I DETANGLE NOW: yes really… lol…and in sections! for me detangling has always been a breeze so much that I don’t even really see it as detangling but just routine hair care but now that I have 24 week old new growth!,  I even got a detangler. Detanglers where never part of my hairdrobe because I’ve never really experienced this kind of challenge in my hair regimen before. I wasn’t even looking for one when I bought this one, but you know your girl is a “hair products section and market wanderer”, so when I saw it  I knew it was time!…. so here’s one I got for 1200 naira only. With Google’s help I was able to decipher some ingredients plus it dissolves the knots and tangles easily at the point where my new growth meets my relaxed hair. And once again I’m spared from breakage.C360_2017-05-27-11-03-51-300IMG_20170601_172911
  2. I’VE BEEN CO-WASHING AND DEEP CONDITIONING  MORE OFTEN: On dry hair especially!. I discovered that every time I wash my hair, my new growth gets really hard and contrary to what my staple regimen was I’ve decided to co-wash (condition wash) more often (every week to be precise) because I realize my hair is more manageable after just doing that, alternating between a moisture and protein conditioner each time I do so. (Not that I don’t wash at all but when I do, a lot of conditioning is involved to easy manageability)
  3. I’VE BEEN TAKING STYLING MATTERS INTO MY OWN HANDS: because I can’t stand any stylist pulling and tugging all in the name of detangling.  And with my new detangler and kui-care spray leave-in conditioner, my hair has been more manageable. Though most of my styles have been centered around bunning and ponytails (I’M A DIE HARD LOVER OF BUNS AS YOU CAN SEE HERE!) but recently I’ve been noticing some bald spots and receding hair line and after posting my observations on my IG, I got some interesting and very helpful suggestions from fellow hairlistas and friends. And recently I read this post about THE DANGERS OF CONSTANT BUNNING AND REMEDIES by Dabs of Naija Hair Can Grow Blog and my eyes where open! Imagine! all this while I’ve been bunning like a rock star and it could be the source of my early baldness!… so I’m deciding to take a backseat no on the bunning train, no more bunning for me till my edges respond to treatment. Strictly bobby pins now, not even hair ties or bands (I’M STRIKING!… LOL).C360_2017-05-15-09-39-52-421C360_2017-05-27-11-45-07-979.jpg
  4. TEA RINSING: OH YASS! when I started my not so serious hair journey, experimenting and indulging with my friends, we never missed a tea rinse or coffee rinse each time we washed! so much that even one of us who didn’t really understand why we were “stressing ourselves” but still participated any ways (because we forced her half of the time), started to notice her hair became darker and fuller (she had limp and discolored hair before). So tea rinses are great for breakage and shedding  and I sort of forgot what difference it makes after long term usage. Bhet now! Green tea is my friend. To use, just let it steep in hot water like you would if you were to drink, no sugar, no nothing, allow to cool an rinse your hair after a wash day. ALLOW TO SOAK AND RINSE WITH COLD WATER

Meanwhile, stretching has been fun, and everyone has been asking me “when will you relax your hair?”… lol… my mum especially. Which brings me to the question “will I go natural?”… hmnn! the growing awareness and rave on social media about natural hair is a topic for another day.. I love love love!! the way African ladies are beginning to embrace their natural hair and feel comfortable in their own hair…. BUT WILL YOU GO NATURAL? is the question shey?…. lol!, honestly speaking for now, I don’t even know. And its been a very persistent question on my mind since my day one inspiration recently made an announcement that she has big chopped and returning to natural!

For me it has never been about natural, texlaxed or relaxed hair, I’ve always loved my hair and hair in general (when I was little I’ll literally force my sister to sit so I can play with her hair; I think I even mistakenly gave her a haircut one time). And as a matter of fact I didn’t even know the difference between relaxed and natural until I was in secondary school, I didn’t even know what texlaxed was till I started learning to care for my hair and saw various texlaxed bloggers… lol!.. IKR

So if I ever go natural, it’ll be because I probably got tired of my relaxed hair and wanted to try something new.

SO YES I’M RELAXING SOON! THIS JUNE I HOPE.

thanks for stopping by,

xoxo

Elfreda

ARE YOU STRETCHING, ARE YOU RELAXED, TEXLAXED OR NATURAL? HOW’S IT GOING?PLEASE LEAVE YOUR COMMENT BELOW, I LOOOOVEEE FEEDBACK!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

