3 WAYS MY HEALTHY HAIR JOURNEY CHANGED MY LIFE!

Hey guys!

Alright, so most times when I’m walking down the street or shopping somewhere or even in the office, I usually have people ask me questions like “wow is this your hair?”, “what’s the secret?”, “can my hair be like yours?”, “How do I go about it?” and so on… But when I start talking about my hair journey, I sometimes get responses like  “alright I’ll try” (in their mind they have given up) or, “is it only hair?”or,  “ahn ahn is it not too much” …. “haaa! all this because of hair”…

Well, Ladies and even gentle men, this post is for you if this is usually your response to caring for your hair. While people’s passions, views, perspectives and priorities may vary in life, I’l like to share how something as simple as caring for my hair changed my life.

  1. MY HEALTH AND DIET CHANGED: I became more conscious of the things I ate and and how I treated my self and my body, before I eat anything these days I first think how is it going to affect my hair (funny but real), I choose food based on the nutrients I can gain (most of the time at least) and the truth is that even when you eat healthy to grow your hair, your body doesn’t just take the nutrients straight to JUST your hair because that’s what you have in mind. It first distributes to the essential organs in need of such nutrients, then others. So a meal that’s high in  protein, omega 3, zinc, iron and vitamins will not just benefit ONLY your hair, it will benefit your skin, nails, the brain and all other parts of your body for overall health!….  Before, I could go a day or more without drinking a glass of water (can you believe that?) but I wanted healthy hair and most of all long hair, so I started drinking water more often than I used to and let me just say that there’s a difference between now and then and I’m not just talking about my hair now.
  2. I DEVELOPED A CRAVE FOR HEALTHY LIVING: I can almost hear someone say but what does this even have to do with hair. I tell you it is connected to hair in every way. For us hairlistas, when you discover that some natural oils are great for both hair and cooking, I mean that sounds like a win-win situation to me… when you hear that, “If I eat it I’m healthy and strong (plus it stimulates hair growth from within), If I rub it on I glow, I can use it to remove my make up (plus it makes my hair thicker!), I can also cook with it or add it to my bath or rub it on a rash and so on… this makes you rethink all the vegetable oils and groundnut oil you’ve been using to cook… then there’s the fruits and veggies, you can buy a few to eat or simply make a deep conditioning mask, either way you’re reaping benefits of the same fruits externally or internally!….. let’s not forget to mention seeds that you can chew and they curb appetite, serve as a healthy snack and give you healthy hair from within!! this makes you rethink that candy or processed sugar coated snacks…. I haven’t even mentioned how I now read the label and ingredients of everything I eat, drink or rub on my skin or put in my hair.
  3. MY LIFE STYLE CHANGED: I discovered that when I research about hair care, more often than not I don’t just come about with solutions that benefit ONLY MY HAIR, most times these solutions turn out to be great for the skin, nails, for pains, beauty, hygiene etc…. let me just list a few to let you know what i’m talking about… I use my coconut oil for OIL PULLING too and it’s great for my teeth I also use it when I run out of body lotion, I use apple cider vinegar (ACV) as a toner, for soaking my foot, and for tummy ache, I chew moringa seeds when i’m feeling constipated, lets not even mention how beneficial black soap is when you run out of shampoo and/ bathing gel or soap. And all these are asides the healthy hair benefits one can gain.

My healthy hair journey is one that has lead to a health conscious lifestyle, I’m no expert on nutrition (in fact my cheat days are very very often) or even unhealthy life style but  I can tell you embarking on this journey has helped me to be somewhat accountable for my health, my work, my play, my sleep and even hygiene, Remember when washing your hair as often as once a week was overdoing it? especially here in Nigeria…. lol…

I enjoyed writing this!….

ARE YOU ON A HEALTHY HAIR JOURNEY?, IF YOU ARE PLEASE SHARE HOW IT HAS AFFECTED YOU.

ARE YOU STILL THINKING ABOUT IT?,  HAVE YOU GIVEN UP?, OR DO YOU SIMPLY THINK ITS A WASTE OF TIME?… WELL I’LL LIKE TO KNOW YOUR REASONS AND IF POSSIBLE BE YOUR PERSONAL CHEER LEADER *WIDE GRIN*… PLEASE LEAVE YOUR COMMENT…… I WOULD LOOOOVE TO HEAR FROM YOU.

XOXO

Elfreda

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Charity says:

    Since I learnt that a black person can have very long hair too, I’ve been on a mission to make my hair grow so long. My hair is just a little bit below the neck level of course…just like every normal naija lady’s hair but the thing is I’ve been confused on what to do exactly. Some haircare advisers say “don’t manipulate” other advice “manipulating” with a lot of products to use of course. Right now, I’m just confused.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Elfreda says:

      Hello Charity, thanks for your feedback. I’m so glad you’ve made up your mind to embark on this journey. I know how confusing or overwhelming the wealth of information out there can be, that’s why I’m here to help. First off I’m not sure you can effectively care for your hair without some degree of manipulation which come in form of styling, combing, scalp massages or even washing. But one major key to retaining length is LOW MANIPULATION. This is where protective styles or low manipulation styles come in, to help give us a break from always manipulating our Hair. As for products… Hey you don’t have to buy alot of them, I’m always an advocate for products you can find or use by just walking into your kitchen, you don’t have to break the bank or buy every single trending product out there, truth is you may not need all of them. Stick to the basics like a shampoo, conditioner, oil and leave in and as you grow in knowledge and research you can start applying what you’ve learnt. For more, read my posts on EMBARKING ON A HEALTHY HAIR JOURNEY, 5 EASY HABITS THAT HELPED ME RETAIN LENGTH AND BUILDING A HEALTHY HAIR JOURNEY. I hope I’ve been able to help. If you have more questions, you can slide them here in any of the comments section on any posts on into my email hairffection@gmail.com 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

